Sophie Lovett rode extremely well at Phillip Island to clinch the Australian Women's Championship. With 10th and 6th place results in races 1 and 2, Lovett came out firing in the 3rd and final race to post the fastest lap time outright and come home in 2nd place overall for the race. Her 10-6-2 results were good enough for 5th outright for the round and handed her the Women’s championship. Lovett finished the outright championship in 4th overall with Kawasaki riders Brandon Demmery, Luke Burgess and Tom Bramich taking 1st, 2nd and 3rd places respectively on their Ninja 250Rs.

Lovett also competed in the Pro Stock class at Phillip Island where she came away with 8-7-6 results for 6th overall for the round and 8th in the championship.

Sophie Lovett say’s, “I’m bloody excited to win the women’s championship. I feel like I’m floating on a cloud and just so happy. I’d really like to thank Kawasaki Australia, my dad (Phil Lovett), Al Samuels, Shark helmets, Held gloves and Motul.”

Hi-Res ASBKr7PI13 2670

Kawasaki’s Sean Condon finished off an injury hampered year in style by winning 2 races at Phillip Island on his way to winning the Pro Stock class for the round on board his Bikebiz Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R. Condon posted 1-1-4 results to win the round. He finished the championship in 4th place.

Sean Condon was joined on the Pro Stock podium by Kawasaki rider Phil Lovett (5-3-2) who finished the round in 3rd place.

The Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R was clearly the dominant bike in the 2013 ASBK Pro Stock championship winning Kawasaki the Manufacturers Championship by a massive 1,265 points over its closest rival. Kawasaki riders claimed 4 of the top 5 positions in the series with Matt Walters taking the overall, Dustin Goldsmith in 3rd, Sean Condon in 4th and Phil Lovett in 5th places.

Images by Keith Muir

Australian Superbike Championship

Round 7 – Phillip Island – Vic - Prostock class

1. Sean Condon           Kawasaki         67

2. Ben Nicolson             BMW                65

3. Phil Lovett               Kawasaki         54

4. Phil Czaj                   Aprilia              48

5. Nathan Houterman     Honda               47

6. Sophie Lovett          Kawasaki         42

7. Joel Hughes             Kawasaki         41

8. Dustin Goldsmith      Kawasaki         32

9. Rohan Wood            Kawasaki         24

10. Patrick Lee              Aprilia               21

Series points (after 7 of 7 rounds)

1. Matt Walters             Kawasaki         350

2. Ben Nicolson             BMW                290

3. Dustin Goldsmith      Kawasaki         249

4. Sean Condon           Kawasaki         238

5. Phil Lovett               Kawasaki         224

6. Ben Burke                Kawasaki         193

7. Matthew Harding     Kawasaki         189

8. Sophie Lovett          Kawasaki         169

9. Nathan Houterman     Honda               160

10. Angus Reekie          KTM                 128

Previous: « Next: »