The award, the most highly regarded rider recognition award in Australian road racing, is in its 22nd year and has been awarded to riders such as Troy Corser, Anthony Gobert, Anthony West, Broc Parkes, Mike Jones and many more. The roll of honour is a who’s who of road racing and Matt Walters has earned a spot by dominating ASBK Pro Stock and winning the title, winning the one-day Australasian Superbike Championship and finishing fourth overall in FX Superbike.

The Kawasaki Connection/Rover Coaches rider from Cessnock, NSW, will return to the track on his Ninja ZX-10R in ASC for 2014 and will be presented with the trophy at round one, March 14-16.

Jeff Ware, editor, Rapid Bikes magazine, will present the trophy.

“The panel have voted Matthew Walters as the winner and I would like to congratulate Matt. He rode very well during 2013, really giving the established front-runners and factory riders a hurry up and I see no reason why he can’t win the title in 2014.

“The RK Chains Samurai Award is awarded to the ‘Rider Of The Year’ based on best new talent, most improved and outstanding effort. Matt ticks all of those boxes.

“A special thanks must got to Link International for continued support of up and coming young riders in Australia, with both a high commitment of sponsorship and with this prestigious annual trophy”.

Kawasaki Australia congratulates Matt on this outstanding achievement.

RK Chains Samurai Award Roll of Honour

2013 Matthew Walters

2012 Josh Hook

2011 Mike Jones

2010 Troy Herfoss

2009/2010 Not Awarded

2008 Pat Medcalf

2007 Jason O'Halloran

2006 Jamie Stauffer

2005 Mark Aitchison

2004 Adam Fergusson

2003 Kevin Curtain

2002 Shannon Johnson

2001 Josh Brookes

2000 Craig Coxhell

1999 Broc Parkes

1998 Anthony West

1997 Martin Craggill

1996 Mark Willis

1995 Rip Crocker

1994 Anthony Gobert

1993 Troy Corser

1992 Michael O'Connor

1991 Mat Mladin

1990 Daryl Beattie

1989 Rene Bongers

1988 Mick Doohan

1987 Grant Hodson

Previous: « Next: »