Walters’ speed was extremely impressive in Darwin with the 20 year old setting a new lap record in qualifying to take pole. He then continuously broke his own lap record in each successive race on board his Ninja ZX-10R, finishing no less than 5 seconds ahead of his closest competitor in each race.

Matt Walters has won every race of the championship so far bar one (where he finished in 2nd place). The 2013 ASBK Prostock Championship marks Walters’ second Australian championship victory to date after he won the ASBK 600cc Superstock Championship in 2010.

Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R machinery took all podium places in the final race of the round with Dustin Goldsmith and Ben Burke finishing 2nd and 3rd respectively. The Ninja ZX-10R is clearly the number 1 bike of choice for riders in the Prostock class with 7 of the top 10 riders on board the model.

Hi-Res ASBKr6HV13 7324

Matt Walters was extremely happy to wrap up the championship with a round to go, saying, “It’s been a perfect year and I’m very happy to win the Australian championship. It’s taken a few years to win the title on the ZX-10R after winning the 600 title in 2010 and the feeling is great. The Ninja ZX-10R did everything that was asked of it in Darwin and we had a perfect weekend. I’d really like to thank Kawasaki Australia, Rover Coaches, Alpinestar boots, RST Leathers, Bell Helmets and last but not least, my mum and dad at Kawasaki Connection for all of their support.”

Matt Walters is looking forward to his next race meet, the 5th round of the Australian Formula-Xtreme Championship at Sydney Motorsport Park in early October where he is aiming for a top 3 finish in the series.

Hi-Res ASBKr6HV13 5558

Australian Superbike Championship

Round 6 – Hidden Valley – NT - Prostock class

1. Matt Walters             Kawasaki         76

2. Ben Nicolson               BMW                55

3. Dustin Goldsmith      Kawasaki         50

4. Phil Lovett                Kawasaki         47

5. Matthew Harding     Kawasaki         44

6. Chris McMillan            Yamaha            41

7. Ben Burke                Kawasaki         40

8. Sophie Lovett          Kawasaki         38

9. Sean Condon           Kawasaki         36

10. Gregory Chin            BMW                33

Series points (after 6 of 7 rounds)

1. Matt Walters             Kawasaki         350

2. Ben Nicolson               BMW                225

3. Dustin Goldsmith      Kawasaki         217

4. Ben Burke                Kawasaki         193

5. Matthew Harding     Kawasaki         189

6. Sean Condon           Kawasaki         171

7. Phil Lovett               Kawasaki         170

8. Angus Reekie             KTM                 128

9. Sophie Lovett          Kawasaki         127

10. Adam Christie          BMW                123

Previous: « Next: »